Wednesday, September 22, 2010

Biggest Loser

I have determined that the show Biggest Loser is an oxymoron.
Not only due to the pun of the show's title and concept, but also in that while the show encourages and promotes living a healthy and active lifestyle, it is encouraged that one sit on his/her ass to watch the show. I understand that this might not always be the case; that there might actually be people who walk on a treadmill, do some crunches, or stretch while watching the show. However I doubt this is the case for most people who watch Biggest Loser. Majority of viewers are most likely sitting or laying on a sofa somewhere while probably eating food of some sort as well, when watching an episode of obese weight loss.

I have also come to another conclusion. I am a fit, athletic person and when compared to the contestants this can clearly be seen. Although, as I watch the show my esteem of my health, fitness, and physical appearance tends to decline while the contestants are exercising, learning health lessons, and transforming themselves from fat lards to fit folks, and I'm sitting on my ass in front of a television screen. I get the feeling that, though I am healthy and fit, I am not fit enough. Ya know. Yesterday evening, when I began to feel this way while watching the show, I turned off the show and went for a run around my neighbor hood.

So- do I continue watching the show because it pushes me to exercise in fear of becoming fat if I don't OR do I discontinue watching the show because it lowers my feeling of worth and beuty that lays within me??

1 Peter 3:3-4
Peter tells the women in his letter their beauty should not come from jewelry or outer adornments. Rather, their beauty should be born out of their inner selves, their gentle and quiet spirits.

No comments:

Post a Comment